Higher Cadence and Hamstring Cramps

fatdaz
fatdaz Posts: 348
edited October 2014 in Road beginners
I've been cycling consistently (50 - 100 miles a week) for the last 4 years but have seriously upped the quality and quantity of my mileage in the last 12 months. I came to cycling as a newly retired prop forward which meant I was "blessed" with very powerful quads. I typically averaged a cadence of around 70 rpm and if my legs suffered at all it was always quads.

In the last 12 months I have increased the distance, pace and difficulty of my rides and I've been increasing cadence such that I now average 80-90 depending on how hilly the ride is. I ride far more on the drops now as well.

I am now finding on most hard rides that I get touches of cramp in my hamstrings. Is this just down to the change in riding style, could it be related to the change in body position as I've "migrated" to the drops or is it just a case that I need to build my legs up? Is there anything I can do about it as it can be bloody inconvenient half way up a hill

Comments

• JayKosta
    JayKosta Posts: 635
    If you are also trying to "pull up" on the backstroke that could be part of the cause for cramping - it is a new muscle usage and they will complain and fatigue.

I suggest you evaluate the height of the bars and the seat - they might need to be adjusted to blend with your current riding position(s). Adjust for comfort and endurance, and re-adjust when things change, or aren't working.

Jay Kosta
    Endwell NY USA
  • fatdaz
    Thanks Jay - I do pull up far more than I used to, daft as it sounds I didn't think about that. Presumably if this is part of the problem it will ease the more I do it and my hamstrings get used to it.