Saddle advice.

Barnymeinhoff
Barnymeinhoff Posts: 62
edited October 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hi :oops:

Im new to MTB, got a Cube Acid 2015 a week ago and love everything about it except the saddle, Clearly there is a German designer out there who is not willing to forgive and forget and my barse is paying the price.

Im mainly looking to do a combination of trails and cross country and would definitely fall into the heavy set category, i feel i need something with a little wider support for both upright and forward leaning perhaps in combination with padded shorts for longer rides. any advice on brands would be appreciated.

Comments

• MTB saddles are not designed for comfort, but to find your sit bones. You either need to harden up your sit bones with the current saddle or find one that better fits those bones. This could also be the wrong saddle again though! A Charge Spoon fits me and many people very well though and are cheapish.
  • poah
    poah Posts: 3,369
    it may also just be in the wrong position
  • Some shops have demo saddles you can try for a few days.
    There are so many different shaped saddles and arses no one can tell you what will be comfortable for you.
  • Thank you all, I have played about with position to some success, will give hardening up a bit more of a chance before gaffer taping a cushion to my rear.
  • Tarqy
    Tarqy Posts: 14
    How to measure your sit bones, It won't tell you what saddle but it'll give you somewhere to start.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7j9LUVJrjA
    2015 Cube Reaction GTC SL 27.5