Is this OLMA bike worth it?

Qazym
Qazym Posts: 2
edited September 2014 in Road buying advice
I'm pretty new to the world of cycling and am looking to buy a bike.
My friend offered to sell me the bike below for about £250.
I was just wondering what your thoughts are and whether this is a good price.

Apologies if I have posted inappropriately or in the wrong sub-forum.
Both me and my friend don't know much about this bike so sorry for the lack of information to go on.

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Shimano RX100 was discontinued in 1999 - so you're paying £250 for a 15 year-old bike of no great intrinsic value. You'd then probably want to upgrade to combined brake levers/ gear shifters and given that the transmission is 7-speed, you're looking at an entire transmission plus hubs and cassette in the region of £300+ labour by which you have spent £600 on a 15-year-old steel-framed bike that still rides and handles the same? For £600 you could buy a year-old carbon-framed bike with 10-speed transmission which will be about 5lbs lighter and have a gear range more suited to a beginner.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • team47b
    team47b Posts: 6,424
    my isetta is a 300cc bike
  • Your 'friend' should be giving you that bike for free. If he feels the frame is worth something then he should be selling it to someone who wants it for a project rather than a first road bike.

You'll get a second hand Allez or Trek for that money.
    Life is unfair, kill yourself or get over it.
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Not worth the money.
  • nochekmate
    nochekmate Posts: 3,460
    type:epyt wrote:
    Your 'friend' should be giving you that bike for free. If he feels the frame is worth something then he should be selling it to someone who wants it for a project rather than a first road bike.

You'll get a second hand Allez or Trek for that money.