Cotic BFe: My first ever build has started

jf22901
jf22901 Posts: 155
edited September 2014 in Your mountain bikes
Well, I decided I'd build my new bike so I have a better idea about how things work and how to fix them (generally I'm just lazy and take my bikes to the LBS). I've never built a bike before, so I imagine this isn't going to be a quick build! I fell off my road bike and factured my collarbone a few weeks ago anyway, so I'm not in a rush to get it done.

I'm using some of the bits off my old bike (forks, wheels, handlebar, saddle and seatpost), but am putting on new shifters and derailleurs (have converted to 2x10), and am replacing my Avid Juicy brakes with XTs.

Anyhow, here are a few pictures showing where I've got to so far. I live in a shared house, so don't have anywhere else really to build it apart from my bedroom! I don't know whether there's a specific order to do things in, so feel free to give any tips.

DSC01083.jpg
DSC01084.jpg
DSC01085.jpg
DSC01087.jpg

Comments

• jf22901
    And here are the things still to go on:

DSC01089.jpg
  • ilovedirt
    ilovedirt Posts: 5,798
    Put pedals on last, they only get in the way ;) looks nice though! Enjoy :)
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Looking good so far....not a budget build then!
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • jf22901
    Well I purchased the new pieces here and there when I saw a good deal, so it's not too expensive (I seem to recall the XO stuff was previous year's stock, hence the price reduction). I did plump for XT brakes too, rather than try to be tarty and get some expensive Hope bling. :D
  • Antm81
    Antm81 Posts: 1,406
    Been tempted by one of these, looked at stripping my old trance to build it. Not sure funds allow it though.
  • ilovedirt