Ride London 2015

Dippydog2
Dippydog2 Posts: 291
I am now an expert as I did the ride this year. :D

So, here's my list of things I would like changed next time around.

1. Pre-event communication. Too many emails
2. There was no GPX or TCX file issued officially. Yes, I know it's not a race but some of us like to see the profile, do a Google earth flyover, do some Street View and so on. Not difficult, costs almost nothing. They could do it.
3. Ballot timing. It's too late. I think the ballot opens in August, shuts quickly and then they take until February to announce. Absurd.
4. Excel is the far side of the moon to most people in the UK. To have to go there to collect a few stickers and a bin bag is ridiculous. I suspect the only real reason is to force us to go to the expo to buy more stuff we do not need at prices higher than online.
5. Making 20,000 people ride their road bikes across sharp grit such as that surrounding the start area is a nonsense. I saw half a dozen people fixing punctures in the starting pens and several more who managed a hundred metres from the start line before blowing out. Surely there must be somewhere with a smooth surface?
6. The telephone helpline. If you could get through you either got someone who rode a bike, knew how the event worked and gave good advice, or as I did twice got someone who probably had never seen a bicycle, could hardly string a coherent English sentence together and really didn't want to be there.
Email wasn't much better.
To the question "I am in Start area Blue and My partner is in Start area Orange. Our start times are very close. We want to meet up as soon as possible. Is it just a case of going a few hundred metres down the road and waiting, or are we on separate roads that do not join up for some time."
The answer was, "Unfortunately so I would suggested looking at the map and arranging somewhere to meet in the safest place."
Oh dear!