2 separate problems, 1 brake and 1 free hub

Broono83
Broono83 Posts: 75
edited August 2014 in Workshop
Hi,

I have 2 problems, one on each bike. Im new to trying to repair them myself so please be gentle!

The rear brake on my Bianchi Impulso (a Reparto Corse RC-471E which I think is equal to Tektro R540?), anyway the problem was that despite setting up the brakes as per numerous online guides, when I squeeze the trigger the pads come in but then don't spring back to their starting position - so even running with the quick release open they are very close to/touching the rim after releasing the trigger. I can manually pull them apart with little force.

I had tried cleaning and lubricating the brake in situ but no effect. I removed the brake and took it to pieces, cleaning and lubricating as I put it back together, seemed to move OK off the bike but hard to tell really as it was all manual manipulation. I put it back on the bike and threaded a new brake cable (managed without removing bar tape but this was a time consuming process!) and lubricated the cable and the outers but the problem is EXACTLY the same :( any ideas? New brake time?

Secondly, I recently inherited another bike, Spesh Allez Sport 2010 or so. The free hub/free wheel is "rubbing" in that when the rear wheel is coasting it makes a constant grinding/rubbing sound, can't see anything trapped. Tried cleaning and lubricating what I can without disassembly. The same sound is made if I remove the wheel and spin the cassette. Any ideas?

I should add that this bike was recently serviced at a local shop before I got it (and only ridden once since) but I feel cheeky taking it back as it wasn't me who got it serviced and I've already been into the shop with the bike to get them to remove the old pedals!! :P

Sorry for long post and thanks for any help.

Chris

Comments

• Zerotails99
    Zerotails99 Posts: 127