Straight Fork/ Head Tube Design Toe Overlaps/ What is Wrong?

blackstick
blackstick Posts: 151
edited July 2014 in Road general
Hello, how are you all

To start with I am a road cyclist with bit of background in art and design.
I also design bicycles/ just a hobby and I am also a bike fitter and mechanic/ self learned.

What I noticed from road bikes that have got straight forks is that they actually overlap and touches the toe part of one's shoe especially those of smaller size frames when the crank arm is on its leveled position.
PS - I do not mean all of them do so hence please do not get angry and shoot at me.

For example: BMC SLR01 (Size Small) Bought new from BMC dealer - fork hitting the toe by like a 1 1/2 inch whilst the crank arm is leveled - this guy cannot even turn whilst cycling and have to stop and straighten his bike every time before reaching a corner and position the crank straight all the time. And this is not because he set his pedal or cleat wrong/ or have a 200mm crank/ 172.5 - 2014 Ultegra to be exact. To not touch the fork as much he's set both the cleat on the very front which also greatly reduces his power transfer.
It was like a 2013 or older model - now BMC have got a bent on their new 2014 SLR model fork.
(Worked with one the same model but in Medium/ not a single touch!)

Then an EMC/ don't think its available in the UK (Size Medium) Bought new from dealer - not as serious as the BMC but fork is rubbing to shoe when crank arm is leveled.

Gir's/ forgot which model but a very high end frame from France supposedly also rubbing the shoes.
And lots and lots more as long as the forks are straight and especially if the frame is a smaller one.
I have a Bianchi C2C 2010 with a curved fork and I can throw the bike into corner with my crank arm position as leveled as I want when I go into a straight again and it never touch my shoe a bit which I brought in the UK whilst I was a student in Bristol.