Tips for a Downhill Beginner

joshmadeiros
joshmadeiros Posts: 7
edited July 2014 in MTB beginners
I am looking at purchasing a full suspension bike to ride DH trails, and I was just wondering if anyone had any tips at all. I've ridden some relatively simple singletrack (small kickers, technical sections, small drops) but I have no experience with downhill riding.

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Get on some uplift days. Meet other people. Don't try to keep up with riders wearing jerseys covered in sponsors logos :-)
    It's a lot of fun but you WILL get injured and break your bike, don't be put off by that, it's all part of the learning process.
    The best tip I have ever had to improve my riding is keep your eyes looking well ahead or to the corner exit. Don't worry about anything closer, it's already too late to react by the time you see it.
  • paul.skibum
    paul.skibum Posts: 4,068
    Similar tip to Rockmonkey but what he calls looking ahead I refer to as trail scanning.

If you imagine a rabbit running along the trail ahead of you, the faster you go the further ahead he gets so in slower tech he is closer to you, higher speed stuff he is further ahead, you are reading the trail then based on the speed you are going and what is coming up. In corners the rabbit is exiting as you are entering so you are looking for him and the exit all the way through the turn.

But what you need to do when riding is scan back and forth on the trail - you need to know obstacles are coming and have evaluated them for what you need to do but if its a jump then timing your launch requires you to look back to closer to your wheel even at speed otherwise timing is off and a dead sailor into the ground will follow.