Hybrid or road bike with flat bars

Batler
Batler Posts: 8
edited July 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi guys,

I'm a bit of a newbie to cycling and i've only got my right arm. After completing my first event on Sunday on my Mango 3 speed, I'm looking at getting something a lot better. I've had advice from my local bike shop and they have recommended a hybrid bike. In particular the Specialized Sirrus i think. My friend at Evans has said I should try the BMC alpinechallenge.

I want something pretty fast with a nice road frame. Some hybrids seem to be more mountain bike framed than others with I don't like. I'm a pretty competitive guy and want to be able to keep up with my mates on their road bikes.

Any suggestions or input?

Thanks,

Comments

• blackpoolkev
    blackpoolkev Posts: 474
    I used to ride a Scott flat bar road bike (FB60) and it was a fast, reliable bike. It has the same geometry as the drop bar version.
    I liked the upright stance on the flat bar bike for better control and rear observation.
    Someone once told me that I should ride my bike with relaxed arms and shoulders, i.e.build your core strength (stomach,hips and back) to brace yourself on the bike in order to apply the power in your legs.
    Your competitive streak may urge you to ride faster but I think you should also consider your ability to stop. Front and rear braking from one lever may be something that would help.
    I admire your determination.
  • dombhoy
    dombhoy Posts: 147
    http://www.on-one.co.uk/i/q/CBPXSLPFBTI ... a-flat-bar

Full carbon and shimano tiagra groupset for 800 is good value
  • herb71
    herb71 Posts: 253
    If a road oriented hybrid floats your boat then that should be easy enough to modify to suit your needs, but if you want to keep up with your mates on road bikes, then why not get a road bike.