Secteur
Secteur Posts: 1,971
edited July 2014 in Road buying advice
Deleted - error

Comments

• robbo2011
    robbo2011 Posts: 1,017
    I have no experience, sorry.

But I would just like to say that it must be so disappointing for the owners when a beautiful brand new bike like the one above is creaking away after just one week. Really shoddy engineering and design. Such a pity.
  • Secteur
    robbo2011 wrote:
    I have no experience, sorry.

But I would just like to say that it must be so disappointing for the owners when a beautiful brand new bike like the one above is creaking away after just one week. Really shoddy engineering and design. Such a pity.

+1000, but the way I see it, I invested in the frame rather than the BB, which I can switch to Ultegra for £400 total, including tools (and that's for the higher cost ceramic bearing PraxisWorks BB - £350 for the standard stainless steel BB version).

This should make the bike perfect.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,432
    1 week old?

so it's been assembled by an incompetent and/or built with crap parts

why waste time/money? just return it and get them to fix it
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • rokt
    rokt Posts: 493
    I recently changed my Ultegra 50/34 to a Dura Ace 52/36 and I've had no problems at all, infact it's one of my best upgrades !

I also live in a very hilly area and it suits me better than the compact set up.

I had the day of work on Tuesday last week and with a couple of mates we did part of the TDF route, Huddersfield to Sheffield and as you know the includes Holme Moss and I climbed that OK.
  • Secteur
    Rokt wrote:
    I recently changed my Ultegra 50/34 to a Dura Ace 52/36 and I've had no problems at all, infact it's one of my best upgrades !

I also live in a very hilly area and it suits me better than the compact set up.