Where did I go wrong?

WillBryan
WillBryan Posts: 8
edited November 2014 in Your pics and vids
Hi,
I'm new to mountain biking and crashed going down Butser Hill in Southern England. I wondered if you more experienced people could tell me what went wrong and why I lost control. Or alternatively you could just watch it to laugh at me.

Watch this video on this URL:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9PcmBJap04

Thanks a lot in advance! :D

Comments

• craker
    craker Posts: 1,739
    Ha ha! Hope you got up and laughed (after dusting yourself off).

Going that fast on a loose trail... under inflated tyres? Poor shocks? Too much speed...

Good vid btw.What did you shoot it on?
  • WillBryan
    Thanks, I filmed it on a GoPro black 3+. I was trying to follow my mate (the guy in front) who has been cycling on trails for years. Thinking about it, it was stupid because he has been known to have bad crashes.
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    It's hard to say the front wheel suddenly goes right suggesting you hit something. It could be lose or soft ground, or a lump or dip in the trail. Best to have a look at the trail where you crashed.
  • WillBryan
    I had v-brakes. I have been told they aren't any good, could they have been a factor?
  • Shackster
    Shackster Posts: 257
    There's loads of rabbit holes on that hill if I remember rightly and it is a very fast descent. Just chalk it up to experience and be glad you didn't knacker yourself!
    2011 Canyon XC 8.0 (Monza Race Red)
    1996(?) dyna-tech titanium HT; pace RC-35's; Hope Ti Hubs etc etc
    Bianchi Road Bike
  • WillBryan
    Yeah I broke my helmet. So I'm feeling very happy to have the minimal injuries I have.
  • Gibbo3771
    Gibbo3771 Posts: 145
    Lol, sorry but that is quite funny.

Quick question, at the end the "rolling", please tell me the helmet was NOT attached to your head at this point and instead came off? If not, ouch lol.