How to fix rear derailleur on a certain sprocket

u0362565
u0362565 Posts: 17
edited June 2014 in The workshop
Hi all,

I recently made the rather rash decision to remove my derailleur's and give them a clean then reattach and set them up. I managed to break the rear derailleur shifter so i need to order a new one. But i'd like to at least set up the front derailleur. I've read that i should be on the smallest chainring and the largest sprocket to do this. However because i have no control over my rear derailleur its positioned so that the chain sits happily in the middle of the set of sprockets say sprocket 4 of 9. I want to move the chain so that its on the lowest gear, largest sprocket, how can i adjust the derailleur position manually so the chain will stay on the largest sprocket while i turn the pedals to test the front derailleur shifting? If i manually shift the chain to the largest sprocket the derailleur acts to try and shift the chain back to sprocket 4. I'm not an expert on derailleurs but i guess this is because there isn't any tension from the gear cable in the shifter to hold the derailleur spring under tension. I can hold the rear derailleur in position but i don't have enough arms to hold that and turn the pedals and make the necessary adjustment to the front derailleur!

Thanks for the help!

Comments

• gbsahne001
    gbsahne001 Posts: 1,973
    If there's no tension on the cable then it should be sitting on the limit switch, which should in turn be the smallest ring on the back.

Adjusting the lower of the 2 limit screws should adjust the trim at the lower end of the gears and the upper screw the top end of the gears. There's usually not enough adjustment in the screws to move it to the position you say it's in, which would suggest there is still some tension in the cable, possibly not sliding freely in the outer
  • u0362565