cube acid 27.5 2014, any good?

johnny_Q
johnny_Q Posts: 12
edited June 2014 in MTB buying advice
so I'm new to this game and been pestering a friend for advice for a while now so thought I'd give him a break and bother you good folks here :wink:

any one riding/ridden one of these and have any views?

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/cube ... prod114083

that's probably top end of my budget, though I could maybe talk my employer into the ride to work scheme and push up to the £1000 ceiling but not sure it's worth all the faff of getting sorted out

will initially just be pretty straight forward off road biking few simple trails and that sort of thing, though would like to get a bit more adventurous as the fitness levels improve

this a good starting point? or am I way off

thanks in advance

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Is a perfectly reasonable bike for what you describe. Is more cross country biased than trail ripper though.
  • johnny_Q
    supersonic wrote:
    Is a perfectly reasonable bike for what you describe. Is more cross country biased than trail ripper though.

ah ok, thanks for that. though your reply raises another question for the uneducated fool in me! what's the difference between cross country and trail riding though? to a noob like me they both seem the same

apologies if my stupidity causes offence!
  • supersonic
    No probs ;-)

They often overlap - and too many they are the same. But the XC bikes today tend to be a little steeper in their angles (quicker steering - at the expense of stability), shorter travel forks, lighter parts. This sort of has a bit of both really, will work fine, but if you plan to tackle harder terrain with steeper downs, a bit more travel and more relaxed geometry might just be the ticket.

This for example:

http://www.on-one.co.uk/i/q/CBOO45650BD ... ntain-bike
  • johnny_Q
    supersonic wrote:
    No probs ;-)