One month on

funkyg
funkyg Posts: 68
edited June 2014 in Road beginners
It's true what everyone says. Just get out and ride. My ride times are getting quicker, and I'm going longer every time.
When I first started a month ago the hills were killing me. I have a triple chain ring and going up certain hills I had to drop to the small chain ring every time. On my last ride I was made up that I could climb on the middle chain ring, didn't use the small one at all the entire ride.
This may seem like something small, but to me it was a big deal. It's a sign that I'm getting better!
I still get overtaken sometimes but I don't care (Well, maybe I do!), I can see an improvement.

At what point does a beginner stop being a beginner? I know I'm still a beginner.
GT Avalanche 3.0 Hydro
Ridley R6 EL

Comments

• ai_1
    ai_1 Posts: 3,060
    It's just an arbitrary label really and anyone's opinion of what constitutes a beginner is going to be based on their own level of experience. Who cares?
  • junglist_matty
    junglist_matty Posts: 1,731
    funkyg wrote:
    It's true what everyone says. Just get out and ride. My ride times are getting quicker, and I'm going longer every time.
    When I first started a month ago the hills were killing me. I have a triple chain ring and going up certain hills I had to drop to the small chain ring every time. On my last ride I was made up that I could climb on the middle chain ring, didn't use the small one at all the entire ride.
    This may seem like something small, but to me it was a big deal. It's a sign that I'm getting better!
    I still get overtaken sometimes but I don't care (Well, maybe I do!), I can see an improvement.

At what point does a beginner stop being a beginner? I know I'm still a beginner.

Beginner's shouldn't be judged by their performance but by their experience.

I've been riding for over 15 years, some days I use the granny ring to climb even the easiest of hills I've climbed hundreds of times before ;)