New to Cycling, advice needed!

Sparkie419
Sparkie419 Posts: 6
edited July 2014 in Commuting general
Good Morning Everyone,

I'm new to Bikeradar.com and new to cycling full stop, I used to have a mountain bike in my early teens but it's been some years since I've been on a bike and rode. I'm 22 and looking to get back into cycling as a hobbie to start with and even start communing the 8 mile journey to work to try and cut my weekly diesel expenditure.

I am wondering if anyone could provide any advice on what bike would best suit my needs, I dont feel that a road bike would be suited to my frame and build but a hybrid may be more suited. I have a budget of up to £300 for a bike itself and I'm wondering if anyone can reccomend any good bikes for the price?

After looking around I've seen the Carrera Subway on sale in Halfords for £229 which seems a reasonable price for the bike and components on offer?

Also the other thing I was a little confused about which frame size would suit me better, I am 6ft 3 and of muscular build? After reading around online some sites are saying 20" and some 22" frame size.

Any advice and pointers would be very much appreciated

Many thanks,
Mark

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    Hybrid would be fine - they're not all that much different to road bikes - just straight bars and capability for wider tyres.

Get on them and try.

Also get on one that is over your budget - just so you know what a more expensive one feels like.

Buy the one that brings a smile to your face...
  • Juddlinski
    Juddlinski Posts: 54
    Sparkie419 wrote:
    Good Morning Everyone,

I'm new to Bikeradar.com and new to cycling full stop, I used to have a mountain bike in my early teens but it's been some years since I've been on a bike and rode. I'm 22 and looking to get back into cycling as a hobbie to start with and even start communing the 8 mile journey to work to try and cut my weekly diesel expenditure.