SRAM X9

Nickrees83
Nickrees83 Posts: 3
edited May 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hello!

I'm a newbie here and feel like a newbie to biking again, it's been about 10 years since I last set foot on a bike and back in the day it was a Kona Roast and Kona Stinky. Times have changed, I'm a bit older now and not quite cut out for dirt jumping and downhill lunacy! I've had to see the change between HS33 Magura's to Disc Brakes, Shimano to SRAM and I feel a bit lost.....

To get myself back into the game I bought myself a cheap and cheerful Boardman Comp 2013, which I really love! Huge fan of the seamless frame etc! The only real issue is that spec wise it's not exactly fantastic. Standard equipment includes Elixir 1's of which I feel I could probably stop quicker with my feet and the front one failed after just 20 miles of road riding, So currently the bikes back in Halfords having this looked at. However, once it's back they can be taken off and replaced with my newly purchased XT's!

Other than this it has SRAM X5 groupset, and my question is.....

Is the X5 groupset worth switching out for X9, or will there be no noticeable difference? It's not exactly expensive but a lot cheaper than the X0 series etc, but Halfords tell me that there is no real technical improvement between my X5 and the X9 bits?

Your views would be great!

Comments

• ej2320
    ej2320 Posts: 1,543
    Wait until the X5 wears out and make use of it, then upgrade when it needs replacing
    As for upgrading I'd always use Shimano, XT has been faultless for me.. easy to set up, crisp shifting and never seems to go wrong
    Only SRAM thing I prefer are the cassettes, I prefer the polished look and the SRAM cassettes seem slightly more rust resistant
  • coulddobetter
    coulddobetter Posts: 812