Voodoo Bantu 2011 vs Voodoo Bantu 2013/2014

Chalupa Batman
Chalupa Batman Posts: 5
edited May 2014 in MTB beginners
Hello all, i'm new to all this (both forums and MTB) and i'm looking for
some help deciding on the Voodoo Bantu 2011 or the Voodoo Bantu 2013/2014.
Both are the same price at halfords but i can't find any reviews on the Bantu 2013/2014
at all online (the only video featuring the 2013/2014 models is from halfords itself).
Looking to buy this weekend but stuck on which one, the main differences i can tell
(keep in mind i don't really know much about it) are the forks (air on the 2011 v coil on the 2013/2014) and
Shimano brakes v Tektro (both hydraulic).
Any help would be very much appreciated.

Comments

• ElliesDad
    ElliesDad Posts: 245
    As a rule of thumb, go for the older model as manufacturers tend to keep the price the same but reduce the specification of the new bikes so you will be getting a better specified bike with the 2011 model.

You could also try negotiating a discount on the older model using the argument it is old stock!
    2012 Boardman FS Team
    2014 Giant Defy 2
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Air better than coil, Shimano better than Tektro, get the older one and angle for some money off as well!
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Chalupa Batman
    Chalupa Batman Posts: 5
    edited April 2014
    Thank's for the reply's guys, i took your advice and went for the 2011 (ordered it online with a discount to pick up tomorrow) and just had a missed call/voice mail message from halfords saying the bike i ordered is actually a display model (so they will sort out some sort of discount) and that for some reason the seals on the fork are blown so they need to be serviced and the bike wont be ready for pick up until monday.