2009 Carrera Vulcan

ashyk36
ashyk36 Posts: 9
edited April 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi. I have a 2009 Carrera Vulcan which I have just bought. I need help with the headset please.

The previous owner has given me the headset in pieces but I am no bike expert and therefore I do not know if there are bits missing.

I therefore now have 2 options:
1. Find out if I am missing any parts. I have tried to put it together but there is wobble. Again I am no expert with headsets so I'm a little confused.

2. Buy a new headset. The problem here is I do not know which headset to buy.

If anyone could shed any light on this I would be greatful.

I could if it helps take a picture of the pieces of the headset I have been given?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Pictures would help.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • TJ20862
    TJ20862 Posts: 78
    You will need an internal headset but Carreras have strange headsets so not all will fit? you can go to hafords and they can order them in for you?
  • cooldad
    Strange? headset?
    I don't do smileys.

Parktools
  • ashyk36
    Ok thanks. I will post a picture this weekend
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    TJ20862 wrote:
    You will need an internal headset but Carreras have strange headsets so not all will fit? you can go to hafords and they can order them in for you?
    Rowlocks, it's a standard semi integrated (otherwise known as zero stack) as used on hundreds of thousands of bikes......in fact the one on my Carrera is a mix and match of bits taken from a Scott and a Marin to get it as light as possible.

Of course not all headsets will fit, there are a number of different standards, but that is the same for any bike, only the right standard will fit!