Shimano M431 Alivio Crank Removal

sundaytrucker
sundaytrucker Posts: 51
edited April 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
I am new to this world of cycling and would like to learn how to maintain and repair my Voodoo Bizango rather than spending a small fortune on visits to Halfords and the LBS both of which I have been unhappy with the level of service on separate occasions.

I have noticed that I am getting a creak from around the bottom bracket when pedalling and it seems more noticeable when going up hill. Having had a look at the spec sheet for the Voodoo I have an octalink bottom brace and Shimano M431 Alivio Crank Set. Now I have tried removing the bolt from the crank arm with an 8mm hex key but it is bloody stiff, I tried to loosen anti clockwise, is this correct? maybe I need more leverage so I plan to pick up some scrap steel tube/bar from work tomorrow.

I just wanted to know whether there was any special tool required to remove the hex bolts as they have a small hole in the head? As shown in the two pictures below. I have read the Park Tool Removal Manual and didn't see any 'special' tool required to remove the crank bolts.
14038125705_922ce9c997_z.jpgimage by sunday-trucker, on Flickr

Any of the Bizango owners got the cranks and BB out and done a home service? anything I should be aware of?

Thanks for any assistance provided

Comments

• BigAl
    BigAl Posts: 3,122
    No special tool required, just a long lever and, yes, anti-clockwise

Once you got hat bolt out you will need a crank extractor to get the crank off
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    No special tool to remove the bolt but you do need a crank tool to remove the crank, and a BB tool to remove the BB. But the BB is not serviceable, and it's unlikely to be creaking already, so most likely it's something else.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Thanks Guys. Nothing beats a bit of brute force!
  • mcnultycop