Very New

Shelley0904
Shelley0904 Posts: 3
Hi,

I'm really new to cycling I have a really rubbish bike but I'm getting my new one in a few days a Boardman MX. I have started to cycle a mile to work but in 4 weeks I am going on a forest holiday and taking my bike. Does anyone have any tips on getting my fitness levels up as hills are literally killing me!!!!

Comments

• simon_e
    simon_e Posts: 1,706
    Practice. That's all.

It will take more than 4 weeks for a significant improvement in fitness but the more you do the better you will get, I promise.

Hope you enjoy your holiday.
    Aspire not to have more, but to be more.
  • baudman
    baudman Posts: 757
    Yep... ride.

And in a few weeks, what seemed like hills will seem like slopes.
    Commute - MASI Souville3 | Road/CX - MASI Speciale CX | Family - 80s ugly | Utility - Cargobike
  • My fitness is pants! I bought my bike to help me out as well. Having really bad hayfever does not help especially when at this time of year it builds on my chest and I struggle to breathe. Yet, I have put a plan of action together for tackling the fitness.

I have different rides to help. On one it is more about covering distance, another it has hills and yet another that is hilly but over a longer distance (long steepish hills). On purpose when I know I am approaching an uphill, I slow down! This then forces me to work harder at getting up the hill, which I do slowly and sitting down. The longer rides I take at a leisurely pace and then every 20 mins or so I do a quick sprint. I found this to work best for me at the moment. Varied rides keeps it all interesting.

I also have the computer on so I know how far I have covered etc... It is a great motivator to push you (if you are on your own) to beat your last time etc...

One thing to watch is fluid intake. On a short 5 mile trip I was drinking a litre of water! Not too good as it would make me feel worse after some exertion.