Answer me these riddles three......

danvannoorden
danvannoorden Posts: 36
edited April 2014 in MTB general
Hello all as a total noob I keep seeing things like XC, DH and AM ect what do these abbreviations mean?
Also do I need to consider which of these I will be when buying a bike?

I still haven't purchased yet and im undecided wether to go 26 or 29" they both have pros n cons.

Lastly has any one owned or know anything about jamis trail x3? The x2 has got awful reviews in every one ive read so far.

Sorry for the long list but you guys have been very helpful to me so far.

Thanks in advance

Dvn
DVN

Comments

• jimothy78
    jimothy78 Posts: 1,407
    Hello all as a total noob I keep seeing things like XC, DH and AM ect what do these abbreviations mean?

XC = Cross (X) Country (often used as a euphamism for longer distance, less technical riding)
    DH = Downhill (not just "riding down hills", but hardcore, fast, technical riding)
    AM = All Mountain (normally used to describe a bike that can handle DH, but is lighter than a specific DH machine, so can comfortably be ridden uphill as well)
    Also do I need to consider which of these I will be when buying a bike?
    I still haven't purchased yet and im undecided wether to go 26 or 29" they both have pros n cons.

yes, consider the type of riding you want to do, then research the types of bike best suited to it.
    Lastly has any one owned or know anything about jamis trail x3? The x2 has got awful reviews in every one ive read so far.
    very low-grade spec, spending a bit more could get you a lot more bike.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    XC=Cross Country (Hardtail or short travel full sus - upto about 120mm)
    AM=All mountain - so a bike you can pedal up as well as ride back down (fast), so about 150-160mm travel
    DH=Downhill - that's Downhill not just riding downhill, you'd have to be stupid AND a masochist to want to ride one up the hill! About 200mm travel plus.