Major Project Helmet

Adam Butterworth
Adam Butterworth Posts: 9
edited April 2014 in Commuting chat
Hi my name is Adam im studying product design at the University of Northampton, im a final year student and as my major project I have chosen to re-design the bike helmet, below is a picture of what I have come up with it is a 3D printed frame that is precisely fitted to your head with airbag ribs connected to the outside that blow as a collision is occurs it also features a camera, built in google glass (with accident recognition to highlight dangers) and lights. The aim of this helmet is to make riding safer, helmets more desirable and with the aid of tech to prevent a crash before it happens.
Just wondering what you guys thought of my design?

Comments

• wgwarburton
    wgwarburton Posts: 1,863
    Why bikes? Concentrate on a dangerous sport where there is a need for PPE!
  • EKE_38BPM
    EKE_38BPM Posts: 5,821
    I think the user will end up with a fractured skull if the airbag deployed, regardless if their head hits anything and the weight of the various tech would mean it would be uncomfortable to wear and set up large rotational forces in the event of an off, leading to whiplash injuries.

I don't like being so negative, but keep trying.
    FCN 3: Raleigh Record Ace fixie-to be resurrected sometime in the future
    FCN 4: Planet X Schmaffenschmack 2- workhorse
    FCN 9: B Twin Vitamin - winter commuter/loan bike for trainees

I'm hungry. I'm always hungry!
  • Hi Adam,

This looks like a cool design! It's nice to see a helmet thats incorporating some tech.

Good luck with your project! :oops:
  • asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    How are the airbags fired / powered? I have concerns about explosive devices on my head and the same goes for a centralised compressed gas supply. Also a gas cylinder may affect the centre of gravity of the helmet.