knee pads: yea or nay

Ferrals
Ferrals Posts: 785
edited June 2014 in MTB general
I've been pretty surprised recently at the number of people I see plastering on full face helmets, knee and elbow pads in trail centre carparks (Afan/glyngorrwg). Given that xc racers don't wear them and they are going to be pushing it harder than most people on trail centres it seems a bit OTT? Even on my local woodland trails it seems standard (at least at afan there are lots of rocks). Have people been suckered in by marketing hype or are they really a good idea for general xc riding?

I thought about getting some when I started riding again, but decided it wasn't necessary. It was only last weekend when I saw that I was in the minority being unpadded that I got the heebie-jeebies and started to consider a lightweight pair again. I guess paying £50 is better than a screwed knee, but i have a nasty feeling I'd buy some and not bother wearing them most of the time anyway.

I'd be interested in peoples thoughts on when they wear them (if at all) -please either talk me into it or talk me out of buying some!!

I half wonder if I'd be more likely to crash having the extra protection to give confidence!?

Comments

• lawman
    lawman Posts: 6,868
    Use them for my local xc trails but usually wear them when I go to centres just to be on the safe side. I've got some pretty light weight ones that are hardly noticeable when riding so may as well wear them just in case. I'm actually thinking of getting some even lighter weight ones for xc and keeping my existing pads for uplift days.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    I think I hit the wrong button.
    I never wear them, but do have a scabby knee and scratched leg after coming off at Afan over the weekend.
    A friend with me always wears them, but when he came off at BPW on Sunday, he broke both his hands instead.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools