Lapierre Zesty e:i shock advice please

jonnylowes
jonnylowes Posts: 3
edited April 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,

I'm a forum newbie :roll: (please go gentle :oops: ) and I'm just looking for a bit of advice. I've got a Lapierre Zesty 714 e:i (2013 purchased 2nd hand)

The issues as I see it:
I've got water settling in the bottom bracket which is making the sensors held within the b.b. short-circuit. Previously, it had completely shorted out and wouldn't register any function (speed/cadence/distance etc). After conducting some fault finding (replacing/charging batteries, checking the computer connection points were free from corrosion) I'd taken the frame plugs out, loosened the battery pack wiped clean the cables and left it in the house to dry out. It worked okay until the next ride.

Now most of the functions are working, apart from the cadence sensor, meaning the "Auto" function doesn't work; it doesn't register the cadence turn-over or lock the suspension out when peddling.

My attempt at fixing it:
I just think I need to open up the b.b. and can the unit out. Having read the Zesty e:i assembly/disassembley instructions I decided last night to remove the crankset and b.b., which was fine only to find the bearings are the cassette type and must be pressed into the bottom bracket? I didn't fancy removing them myself, I'm guessing the home-fix removal is by knocking them out with a hammer/blunt instrument or simmilar? Didn't fancy this. Some one also said "just remove the seatpost" and leave it upside-down to drain. Great idea, but I've got a dropper, is this easy enough to remove/the thing to do?

So what I'm asking:
1. Is my suspected fault the likely cause?
2. Anyone got any ideas to sort it out?