Upgrades on a budget!

fat-lad-on-a-bike
fat-lad-on-a-bike Posts: 26
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
I have been running around on my road bike now for about 6 /7 months.
She is nothing special but runs well.

She is about 8 years old Claud Bulter, bought second hand like new, with a sora group set and pretty much the orginal wheels and set up.

Over the winter I have not seen the need to change much and have been using it communte (14 miles a day) and do a few weekend longer 20-30 miles on a weekend. So other than a new seat, a some grip tape and a bit of TLC she remains as was.

Now enjoying cycling more im looking to do a few sportives and concentrating on get the wieght of the bike down. Reading online and speaking to a few other cyclists i know the most preductive way forward is in regards to a upgrades wheelset and a groups set. With a better wheel set the roll should be better and increase speed and efficiancy.

Currently i have the orginal Vuelta Sytlus Wheels on there. So looking to upgrade, happy with picking up a used set of wheel in decent condition off ebay or from ads. What would people recommend, Im not looking top end or to competitively race on! im 5'9 and around 100kg.
Is there anything i should watch out for keep clear of? Is it the hubs or the rims that are the key issues?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• secretsam
    secretsam Posts: 5,099
    I had some Fulcrum Racing 7s to replace the stock wheels on my old bike, utterly brilliant.

But not actually THAT light.

Personally, being same height and weight as you, I'm focusing on losing weight off me before I focus on the bike...I figure the savings from pie consumption will offset the cost of new wheels, etc :lol:

It's just a hill. Get over it.
  • Sam, i am on my way down in wieght.
    I was 22 months ago a little over 120kg so have shed 20kg hoping to lose another 5kg.
    I know ill never be a true cyclist build after far to many year in the rugby rugby front row!!