Mountain bike protection

benjaminbroadhead
benjaminbroadhead Posts: 48
edited April 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hi all

Just picked up my new mountain bike and wondering what's the best way to protect the frame, forks, cranks etc. I'm new to all of this so any help would be great!

I've been reading about protecting a mountain bike frame and a few people have recommeded helicopter tape:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... ink:top:en

I've bought a skin protector to protect the frame from the chain.

What other items would it be worth buying?

Any other reasonably priced recommendations would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Bit of heli tape, or free Superstar stickers where the cables rub.
    That's it.
    Just don't ride off a cliff.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Will gold stars also do the trick?

I'll steer well clear of cliffs!
  • I've used stuff from these guys on my new bike

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/paragontapes/m.html

Not official 3M 'helitape' but it's a fraction of the cost.

I plastered my frame in it. Just because you can!

Does stop the paint getting ruined from muddy shorts and shoes and particularly scratchy cables!

As I found out it doesn't stop rocks denting your downtube tho :wink:

Ultimately, it's a bike for throwing down mountain and there's only so much you can protect!
  • AlShack
    AlShack Posts: 38
    Sorry - couldn't resist:

condom+bike+2.JPG

Google is a terrible thing ...

Does stop the paint getting ruined from muddy shorts and shoes and particularly scratchy cables!

Ultimately, it's a bike for throwing down mountain and there's only so much you can protect!

Thanks for this mate. I guess there's only so much you can do but may as well give it a go. What size did you buy?
  • AlShack wrote:
    Sorry - couldn't resist:

condom+bike+2.JPG

Google is a terrible thing ...