Lady cyclists and "Normal" clothes

anne_p
anne_p Posts: 35
edited April 2014 in Women's cycling forum
I'm hoping I'm not the only lady rider who has a problem finding normal clothes particularly jeans which actually fit!
I've been cycling for around 6 years, but only more seriously over the past couple of years. In this time my thighs and calf muscles have grown a fair bit, especially since taking up time trialling.
These days getting clothing items such as jeans and non-cycling shorts to fit me properly is near on impossible.
I am in theory a size 8/10, but if I try on jeans which fit my waist they are too tight on my thighs and calfs, if I can get them past my thighs at all!
If try on a larger size I they are fine on my legs (sometimes a bit tight) but are too big around the waist.
I wont even start on the skinny jeans fashion.....
Walking trousers used to be ok, but after a winter of decent training these are getting too tight also.
Am I the only lady cyclist who has this problem? Am I really a freak? :shock:
I am hoping someone out there knows of a clothing brand which may fit my newly weird bodyshape!

Comments

• SFT
    SFT Posts: 156
    Mother jeans, even the skinny ones. Finally no huge gap at the back of the waist.
  • jasonbrim
    jasonbrim Posts: 105
    Jeans with stretch are often good - most brands have a line made with stretch.
    Have you tried Levi's Curve ID jeans (they also have stretch)?
  • nuggiebok
    nuggiebok Posts: 63
    No you are not the only one, although my problem has nothing to do with cycling. I've always had 'strong' legs so can never find jeans to fit properly. If I do settle on a pair, within a couple of hours wear I am pulling them up coz they keep falling down, then the waist goes baggy.

Jeggings are my friend. Got a cheap £6 pair from asda and they beat all my £70+ jeans hands down!