Kids bike refurb

I've got a bike for my daughter that was her older cousins, it's been left out in the rain by the look of it but is actually an unused bike.

I would like to remove the rust and replace things like handlebar grips and whatever else like cables/brake pads if necessary. I have no prior experience of doing something like this but have recently got a motorbike and hope to do all the maintenance and repairs on it myself. I would like to start with a small project like this bike and make it nice for my daughter.

I read that oxalic acid is good for removing rust, can I buy it off the shelf? I've got five days off work and would like to spend an hour or two each night on this. I have a decent car toolkit with wrenches and screwdrivers, pliers and so on.

What's the best way to go about this?

I've tried to upload pics from my phone but it just isn't happening. The ones I posted here (hopefully) are very poor quality, apologies.

**Edit; nope, not worked. How do I post pics using img tag/button?

Comments

• Giraffoto
    Giraffoto Posts: 2,078
    It's possible and a very worthwhile project - I've just done something similar with a bright yellow Spesh. Hotrock. To answer your questions in no particular order . . .

Oxalic acid is poisonous, and not a good thing to tackle rust with. Phosphoric acid will get the job done but is not something you can just buy and try. Forget acids. Either strip the components from the frame and get it shot blasted and powder coated, or get the paint off it yourself and re-spray it with rattle cans. Both can get good results.

Equip yourself with metric allen keys in the sizes 3-4-5-6mm, a 15mm open-ended spanner (for the pedals) and a set of metric combination spanners 8-9-10-11-12mm. These will fit most things. Also a good pair of pliers and a tool for whatever sort of bottom bracket you have.