More Aggressive Geometry

fatdaz
fatdaz Posts: 348
edited March 2014 in Road beginners
I've been riding for 4 years now progressing in that time from 15 mile jaunts on an old Dawes steel hybrid to multiple rides of 20 - 100 miles per week on a Bianchi Infinito. I've had the Bianchi for a little over a year now and absolutely love it but I am looking to treat myself to a new bike largely for no reason other than I want to.

Originally I was looking at the Infinito CV which I love the look of but I will be keeping the current Bianchi and I assume the CV will feel like more of the same. This has got me wondering whether I should look for something much different to the Bianchi for the new bike. I like the idea of using the Bianchi for longer rides but getting something more racy for shorter, faster rides. One of the chief drivers for buying the Bianchi was comfort but I am now a fitter and better cyclist than I was when I bought the Bianchi so I am wondering whether I could be comfortable enough on a racier bike.

In your experience how much less comfortable would a properly sized and fitted, racier spec bike be and will I know enough on a 45 minute test ride to know whether I can get comfortable on one? I'm happy to be driven by the "get the one you love the look of" mantra but I don't necessarily want 2 the same but on the other hand I don't want to waste money on something I can never get comfortable on

Comments

• Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    No less comfortable.
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    Don't know what age you are, but it might be less comfortable if you are in your 50s like me :)

I've just looked at the Bianchi Infinito CV online and it looks a lovely bike, as it should do at over £7k! Certainly looks more racey than the Infinito you have, but would you pay that much just for more aggresive geometry?
  • fatdaz