bonjourno from Skipton

sutty86
sutty86 Posts: 2
edited February 2014 in MTB beginners
Complete noob forgive me,my brother has given me his 'broke Scott voltage octagon yz2
I managed to sort it out by looking on the forums
Ended up only needing a new chain from halfrauds.

So I'm looking for places around here I can test it out any easy runs
I'm looking to increase my fitness whilst enjoying an hobby
I've only just moved here after spending ten years in the air force.
I have been using it ATM to commute to work
Its rides fine,gears seems good
Just occasional clank not sure where its coming from
I believe chain is correctly fitted I used the big cogs method plus one link and another master link.

V brakes are also on the bike looking slightly thin
Any suggestions on replacing
It would be nice to chat to some like minded people
Thanks Garry

Comments

• Kowalski675
    Kowalski675 Posts: 4,412
    At Skipton you're not too far from Gisburn (and on the edge of Yorkshire Dales for masses of XC riding):

http://www.pmba.org.uk/gisburn.htm

Leeds/Liverpool canal goes through Skipton too, for easy towpath rides to start getting your legs used to it.
  • Howdy,

I live in Gargrave and mainly ride out around the village, there is a club I have never ridden with but found:
    http://www.bogtrotters.org/index.php
    As above Gisburn is 20mins up road, well worth a trip, Blue run is a nice intro then work upto the Full8 Red run & never miss out Hully Gully!!
    Skipton/Embsay moor are riding distance from you, I think there are routes listed on bikely around our area.
    Enjoy
  • Hi there , I'm also from skipton and ride a lot at gisburn forest , there r a few good local rides ,Embsay moor , grassington moor , malham and ilkley moor . I ride with a group on a sat morn they are called mudpackers , they have a web site and on Facebook there is 3 of us from skipton and anyone is welcome along
  • Kowalski675
    never miss out Hully Gully!!