New to Cycling

ultrarunnerlee
ultrarunnerlee Posts: 55
edited March 2014 in Road beginners
Hi all,
Just thought it would be good to say hi and perhaps pick some brains.
I am an Ultra runner by trade, however last year after a 60 miler I managed to knacker my knee. It's taken 6 months to get to this point. I have had Physio, MRI's, Ultra sound, you name it i've tried it. Without boring you too much in reality my knees are 100% fine according to everybody I've dealt with and it seems to be a biomechanical thing. Anyway they want to sort me out with Orthotics and all that nasty stuff instead of trying to sort the problem itself out.
After all this I thought I could do with a new challenge. I have a real cheapy Road bike that I used to commute a handful of miles to work on.
Yesterday it got an MOT and is ready to role and went and done my first 30 minutes in the rain thismorning and it was amazing to be outside again, instead of working on my knee in the gym. The ride caused me no problems whatsoever.
I am thinking about signing up for one of the stages of the TOUR of WESSEX, as its about 5 miles from my doorstep. Its at the end of May..... We are now on the 25th of February, is it doable to do 107 miles in around 10-11 weeks of training. I have the motor from running but cycling is a very different beast.
Any general thoughts, tips, ideas much appreciated.
Also at an event like this, will I look like a plumb turning up in all my cheap kit on my cheap bike? With running you dont have to worry, the more trampy you look the better, but I see all these people caining arounf on 5000£ bikes with SKY plastered over all their kit and theres me with 250£ road bike and kit from sports world :-)
Anyway this went on longer than I thought
Cheers

Comments

• Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610