Help Required For A Newbie

Joshua241996
Joshua241996 Posts: 5
edited February 2014 in MTB general
Hi guys

i am a sort of newbie to mountain biking having previously giving it up due to work, college etc. I have just bought a 2012 lapierre x controll 110. The guy i bought it from bought it new in 2012 intending to use it, use it twice around the local park and left it in the garage and not been used since.

Now the rear shock on the bike is lapierres own shock and im looking to upgrade it to a fox float etc. How do i measure the shock. Do i measure it without any pressure in it from the centre of the mounting point to the centre of the other mojnting point or can i measure it with pressure in it.

Also when looking to upgrade the front forks to air shocks what sort of air shocks are rhe better ones to go for.

Also if anybody has this bike what do they think to it when handling on the trails etc as a few people have told me that lapierre are the lowest of the low in mtb bikes and the bike i have isnt worth anything.

All help appreciated
Josh

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Why don't you ride it and see?

Then think of upgrading what doesn't work for you.

Nothing really wrong with the spec, not great, but ok, and if you replace the fork and shock at maybe £500, you might have bought the wrong bike.

ps I would ignore what 'people' say. Most are idiots anyway.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Not sure what they use but I very much doubt it is Lapierres own shock, just branded as such (for example the Scott branded ones are made by DT Swiss), why not find out what is fitted first?
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • mudsucker
    mudsucker Posts: 730
    edited February 2014