Bike Gloves

Pinball72
Pinball72 Posts: 22
edited February 2014 in Road beginners
Hi, im quite new to road bike cycling and was wondering if anyone could advise me on the best gloves I could use. Im been having some discomfort in my left wrist when cycling, usually occurs after around 4-5 miles cycling. At the moment I'm using a pair of specialized gloves, they dont seem to me to have anough padding. Gloves that are sold in my LBS look all the same to me. Any help would be most appreciated, thanks.

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    I'd look at your position if its apparent so early on.

1/3 of your weight should be on the bars. 2/3 on the saddle.

Are your bars too low or far away ? Is the front tyre inflated too much ?
  • I have a pair of Endura FS260 mitts with more padding than I've ever seen before, and I can't complain about them. However, I find that gloves are the last line of defense- if you're having wrist pains make sure your riding position is OK- perhaps try a more upright position to put more weight through the saddle?

Decent thick bar tape is also very helpful- providing cushioning as well as increasing the width of the bars and making it more comfortable for me- I find some of the cheaper bike offerings with narrow width bars and thin tape quite uncomfortable.
  • I do try and put most of my weight on the saddle, I dont feel that Im stretching that much forward. I thought it was strange that I was only having problems with my left wrist and nothing with the right. I have gone with 110psi with the tyre on the front, Grand prix 4000s.
  • buzzwold
    buzzwold Posts: 197
    I too have the FS260 mitts and some Altura long finger gloves. I used to have Specialized long finger gloves and they were more comfy than the Altura. As iron-clover said, gloves are the last line of defence. Typically you will get pain in the hand itself rather than the wrist.