increasing the number of days I commute in

samsbike
samsbike Posts: 942
edited February 2014 in Commuting general
My commute is about 30miles RT and I can just about manage it twice a week and I have been doing this twice a week thing for about 2 years. On the odd occassion its gone up to 3 days, but that has been rare.

I really want to get more miles in, but my average speed currently is around 13mph, so its a fair old journey in terms of time, if not distance.

How have others managed to ramp it up without getting exhausted? I also really struggle especially if I have not ridden in for a week or so.

I currently ride in on mtb with slicks and have a road bike for the summer.

thanks

Comments

• Mon / Weds / Fri if I do 3 days (24 mile RT) but I did the same for the 28 mile one.

Mon / Tue / Thur / Fri if I do 4 days

Make it easy to get on the bike in the morning by having everything prepped the night before. Leave a little earlier so there is no pressure on time to get to work and enjoy it.

The key is: don't stress about it, the speed will come but don't go looking for it.
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • I'm a Mon/Wed/Fri commuter, 34 miles RT, longer in the spring/summer. All the "prep the night before" stuff is second nature now, but eating enough was the key for me. Lots of healthy snacks during the day - dried fruit, fruit, yoghurt bars, the occassional vegetarian rhinocerous - seriously, by commuting that much, and working hard, you need to upgrade your calorific input sufficiently, especially in the winter..............
    Raymondo

"Let's just all be really careful out there folks!"
  • e999sam
    e999sam Posts: 426