Audax

ednino
ednino Posts: 684
In preparation for a 24hr event I think an audax or 2 would be good training.
I've never done one but done plenty of 100mile sportives last year. Few questions...

Why are they abut £5 compared to £25 sportives?
What do they mean by 'control at' and 'information control' ?
What else is different other than them being further?

Im a noob so any help welcome on audaxing

Comments

• Mikey23
    Mikey23 Posts: 5,306
    They don't have big coloured arrows telling you which way to go. You have to navigate by yourself to various check points around the route where your card is stamped proving that you've done the course. You do this with a direction sheet which you carry with you which is pretty easy to follow. There will probably be access to food and drink along the way but there may not. You won't get a tee shirt or a medal or a goody bag. They are not competitive. They are run by enthusiasts not by businessmen

They are great fun and tremendous value for money!
  • Moonbiker
    Moonbiker Posts: 1,706
    Food @ audax's tends to be better than sportives from my limited experience.

They aren't chip timed & you have to navigate. Also there will be less people entering than in a sportives & its likely more people will have beards.
  • Audax is great.

They are self supported, there is no mechanics, no sag wagon but everybody will be really friendly.

You will be given a card at the start which will have a number of boxes on it. At the physical controls you will get a stamp on your card whereas at the information control you will have to make a note about something (take a pen with you). This is often the distance to another village or the date on a building. This is to confirm that you have visited the control and therefore done the minimum distance.