Cannondale Synapse - bent wheel

El Selb
El Selb Posts: 137
edited February 2014 in Road beginners
So, in Nov/Dec I had to take my bike to my local bikeshop to get a replacement rear wheel as it had been bent badly - bu someone or something - while I'd left it locked up on a local street. New wheel and fitting cost around £80.

This week, I cycled to work, went to place my Cannondale Synapse in a upper level rack at work, then bike didnt engage in the rack properly, slipped out and another bent rear wheel that needs replacing.

My Synapse is a 2011 model I think. Came with RS 3.0 wheels.

Reluctant to shell out another £80 for a new wheel and wondering whether I can buy a replacement and fit it myself. Apart from a like-for-like replacement, what would be a comparable wheel I should look for, how hard would it be to fit and add the cassette (I've never done it before), and will I save money??

Many thanks!

Comments

• can it not be straightened by your lbs?
    --
    Burls Ti Tourer for Tarmac, Saracen aluminium full suss for trails
  • The rs wheels are shocking i had planned to keep mine for winter but they didnt even last 1 month. If your looking for cheap solid long lasting wheels i cant recommend fulcrum 7s highly enough. For £100 they are brilliant.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I am still puzzled as to how a wheel just suddenly becomes bent? I have had the odd wheel go out of true (which was a 10 minute fix)...and the odd spoke break which then resulted in a proper rim deflection...but just bent so badly as to not be able to park it? Any thoughts on what happened or is this another case of leaving it somewhere for someone to kick? Why not see if the LBS can just retension? May only cost £20.

I think the RS wheels are ok. No problems with R500 or my new winter wheels, RS30 (£100 from Ribble and very durable).