Multiple bottom bracket replacements since November?

ntc05
ntc05 Posts: 4
edited January 2014 in Workshop
Hi,

Could I please have some advice on bottom brackets?

In May last year I purchased a new Specialized Secteur Sport Tripple which was written off in August after an accident.

I had this covered by insurance so had a new bike by September but after multiple failures of my LBS I didn't receive it until the end of November. On the first morning of use, the second that I started riding, a clicking noise started coming from the pedal area. After taking this back to the shop, I was informed that the BB had rusted and would need to be replaced. As this was the only part of my old bike to be salvaged and put in my new frame, I accepted this and forked out for a new one.

By the end of November, the clicking noise was back accompanied by a grating noise. This again turned out to be a rusty BB that needed replacing. Instead of going for an identical SRAM BB30 I upgraded to a shimano alternative.

Due to the weather and holidays I ended up keeping my bike in the house until January when I rode with the bottom bracket for the first time. It started off ok, but now I am having to take it back to the store as it sounds as though this unit has failed too.

I have now lost all faith in the store. I only ride three days a week on a bus road and rinse my bike of every weekend so I shouldn't have got through three bottom brackets in the space of three months. I only stick with the store as I purchased a bike off of their competitor and ended up breaking my arm when the wheel came off on my initial ride.

Considering it is only January I have managed to get through 2 new bottom brackets in this time and am already needing at a third. Can anyone recommend a decent 68mm BB?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    BB30 and wet weather riding do not mix well.

Numerous posts about the virtues or othewise of BB30.