Limits of a new MTBer and a 80mm Hardtail

iwilldoit
iwilldoit Posts: 710
edited January 2014 in MTB beginners
Hi All
Just wondering what a 80mm front suspension hard tail would be like at places like Nant Yr Arian and Coed Y Brennin I have only been riding for just over a month, I have ridden off road motorbikes for years so have an idea of how to ride off road, but I have over 12" of suspension on my motorbike.
Everyone tells me the tyres on a mtb are good for grip and not to worry to much about that, how big of a obstacle can you ride with 80mm ( Rock Shox Recon Silver air forks) just like to have a bit of an idea so I can plan my route up or down a section, before I think I wonder if I can go over that or this and end up on my face thinking shouldn't of done that :(

Comments

• mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    You'll be fine on most things at a trail centre on that. Don't worry about it.

When I started riding I had a crappy Dart 2 fork on my hardtail and it was my ability, not the bike's that held me back. Someone will be along soon with a photo of someone riding a rigid down the World Cup course at Fort William.
  • iwilldoit
    iwilldoit Posts: 710
    I know what you mean there is always someone out there who can do some things and you think how the hell did he do that, I have ridden motorbikes for 34 years and when I watch people like Toni Bou I haven't a clue how the hell he can do the things he can do on a trials bike
  • Hawmaw
    Hawmaw Posts: 124
    The guys over on "Retrobike" regularily ride trail centers and natural single track on full rigid 80s and 90s bikes so I wouldnt worry about having 80mm.
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    I my old 1990's hard tail bike has 50mm front suspension and v-brakes. I used to ride it anywhere with no problems.
  • morepower
    morepower Posts: 140