Are these wheels / rims worn out

ascurrell
ascurrell Posts: 1,739
edited February 2014 in Workshop
Hi Guys, just bought these wheels on ebay Cube HP Aero [made by citec]
They were listed as used but "all in good condition" " Rear has few marks on decals" yes but not a problem.

The rear wheels bearings are a bit gritty but I can sort that.

It's the rims I am concerned with, there are loads of pics here so please see them all, the ones in this listing are of the front. They seem to have worn strangely with a double ridge in the middle [like tram lines], please see pics. And the whole surface is roughly worn.

On the next listing is the rear, the rim are quite dished [in my opinion] and again badly worn.

Also both rims seem to have stress like lines again please see pics as it's hard to explain.

I'm no expert on wheelsets and when they are worn so would appreciate any input and help.

The seller sent good communication and seems a decent Guy so don't think anything sinister etc, that is of course if they are worn etc.
Many thanks in anticipation, Alan

DSCI0787.jpg
DSCI0789.jpg
DSCI0790.jpg
DSCI0791.jpg
DSCI0792.jpg

Comments

• ascurrell
    Now the rears

DSCI0797.jpg
    DSCI0798.jpg
    DSCI0799.jpg
    DSCI0801.jpg
    DSCI0804.jpg
    DSCI0805.jpg
    DSCI0806.jpg
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    I wouldn't be worried about that crazing in the finish, but that rear rim looks worn out to me, and the front's not far behind it.

There's a big difference between worn and worn out.
  • dodgy
    dodgy Posts: 2,890
    From the minute you fit them, every ride afterwards you'll be thinking "is this the ride when the front or rear wheel fractures at the brake track".

Barge pole.

PS - Best way to measure wear is to use a dental guage, they're about a fiver on ebay. As a general rule, if they measure less than 1mm look to replace, and don't use them once they get to 0.7mm.

As I said, a general rule.
  • The rear is dangerous and you should stop riding it now