help needed in assembling an old Benotto 27" road bike

owaisarain
owaisarain Posts: 3
edited January 2014 in Road beginners
I am new to road bikes, and trying to assemble an old road bike.
I think the rear hub is displaced to non drive side. How could i identify the cause like whether its because of spacers, frame or curved wheel.

While locking the rear wheel with quick-release i look at two points for reference
1. Seat stays, rear break position
2. Chain stays, bracket position

While locking the wheel it seems ok from bracket position after a little adjustment, but no matter what i try it remains displaced towards non-drive side from rear break reference.

rear gears are shifting well while testing bike upside down, but when i ride and when there is some pressure on chain it makes noise like for an instant cog has slipped chain and then regained it, but only when i feel there is good pressure on the chain. I don't know whether it is because of rear hub displacement or not.

For this troubleshooting i have removed the front derailer and put the chain in middle ring at front side so that i can focus on rear hub and gears, its a shimano sis 3 and 6 speed by the way.

While in mid ring at front and smallest cog at rear the chain line coud be seen in one of the attached pics.
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B-E5MsGmHC4ARllaZF9SNjV6Nzg&usp=sharing

Comments

• The hub still looks central. Had someone shoved spacers behind the drive side lock nut to move it over they'd be a bigger gap between sprocket and frame on the axle drive side.

What's the over lock nut dimension on the rear axle? I ask as there's a lot of skewer showing out of the drive side nut and I'm wondering if the frame is wider than the axle and the dropouts are being pulled in.

The spokes looked knackered so it might just be wheel is out of shape. Are the drive side spokes tensioned and does the wheel run true?

As for the gears, it could be that parts of the drive train are worn.
  • keef66