Gear shifters

placebokid
placebokid Posts: 3
edited January 2014 in MTB beginners
Hi! I'm pretty new to biking and an have a question I'm finding rather hard to word. the mountain bike i have has rapid-fire style shifters, and i find these generally more comfortable than grip shifts, but the shifting is opposite on each side: for example to shift up on the left you use the top lever and on the right, the bottom lever. I find this tends to confuse me a lot and leads to mis-shifting. My question is are all rapid-fires like this and if not, how do I tell without inspecting each one in a shop? I don't want to have to move to grip shift but I am prepared to if necessary. thanks in advance for the help.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    yes they are all like that.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    If you think about it, gripshift are the same. Twist backwards to get a lower gear on the right/rear, backwards to get a higher gear on the left/front.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    Just remember big lever-big cog, small lever-small cog. Simples.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • Hey guys, thanks for the help. I guess I'll be switching to grip shift.
  • jimothy78
    jimothy78 Posts: 1,407