Hill Climbing Question

fray329
fray329 Posts: 15
edited January 2014 in MTB general
Hi guys im new to mtb and have bought a 2012 Cannondale sl4. My mate and I who has the same bike went out for a ride to Cannock today and did the follow the dog trail.

On the hills I was struggling pretty badly but when we swapped bikes for a bit I didnt struggle as bad. He has a shorter stem, higher rise and wider bars and his seat is lower than mine would these make a bike ride easier when hill climbing? Im trying to find out what made his bike feel easier to climb on than mine.

Ive now added two washers to below the stem and lowered my seat (had to cut the seat post down when I got home). I felt like I had a lot of weight over the front end when I was riding my bike and it hurt my neck to look up and forwards and I was spinning the rear wheel quite a lot. Also it felt like I was stretching too far to the bars.

Im thinking about buying a shorter stem with a higher rise on it but dont want to change the bars really because they are nice race face carbon flat bars :D but I will if I have to.

Im wanting some advise from more experianced riders to help me get the bike dialed in :mrgreen:

Cheers lads James

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Is all preference really. If I want to attack climbs out of the saddle, longer reach and narrow bars seem to help. Sit and spin? Doesn't seem to make too much difference as is easier to adapt.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Make sure when you added spacers you still have enough steerer tube actually in the stem. Unless you took spacers from above the stem, could be a problem.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    fray329 wrote:
    ... and lowered my seat (had to cut the seat post down when I got home).

That doesn't sound good!