Complete Newbie to MTB etc

Ashlar86
Ashlar86 Posts: 4
edited January 2014 in MTB beginners
Right I wont beat around the bush the closest thing I have came to 2 wheels in the last 10 years is my motorbikes... I have bought a Carrera Vulcan peak edition or something as I want to loose weight and use it for commuting to work etc now again I wil add I AM A COMPLETE BEGINEER / NEWBIE.

I am hoping to use the bike for some days out up Derbyshire in time once my fitness is up but the bikes in a shoddy state to be honest ( it was second hand from a cash zone store in Leicester ) I have replaced the rear tyre with a conti MTB tyre , its missing a front brake disc , the cassette looks worn I have took it for a mile ride earlier and it took so long to engage gear does this point to a fubbard chain ? ALSO the forks were dry as a nuns naughty area , when compressed they sounded grindy so I did my best to strip down and clean what I could and added some motorbike fork oil has made them SLIGHTLY better but the seals have blown as the fork oils is just al around the stanctions.

what kind of parts should I be looking for in regards to

chain.
comfy seat .
cassette.
Front brake disc .
Forks.

sorry if the thread makes no sence my literature is pants

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Without knowing the current spec of the bike, it's impossible to suggest what might be compatible.
    Read Parktools or Sheldon Brown to work out what you have and what you need to do.

Before you do random things like oil forks.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    ps 99.9999987545781% of shifting problems are due to cruddy cables.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • the bike is completely standard I mean bog standard!