New to cycling - £400 hybrid bike advice!

AndrewRM
AndrewRM Posts: 3
edited January 2014 in Road beginners
Hi guys!

I've been cycling to work for about 18 months now. I had a Carrera Crossfire 3 bike from Halfords which was unfortunately stolen so I'm looking for a new bike. The insurance company will only pay out what the bike was worth, which was £400, I'm not looking at getting the same bike because it seems to be pretty bad value for money and I wasn't that impressed with it.

My commute is mainly road but with a lot of going up and down curbs and I do also cycle off road (nothing extreme, just mud paths) occasionally so I think a hybrid bike would suit me best.

So what do you guys advise? Having disk brakes would be nice as my old bike had them but it seems not many bikes around that price range have them. Front suspension would also be nice as it helps keep the ride a bit smoother when going up and down curbs but it's not essential. I've had my eye on the Trek 7.1 FX which seems to get good reviews but it lacks both of those things.

Thanks! :)

Oh, I also need advice on a new lock as my old one didn't really stand up to the punishment of a bolt cutter. I had a £50 Abus cable lock and they just sliced right through it!

Sorry, change of plan. The insurance company have given me a £470 voucher to spend at Halfords only. I'm willing to put in an extra bit if needed. I take it the only option is really a Boardman? Such as this?
http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165534

Cheers.

Comments

• I had a Trek 7.1 FX and liked it, unless it was hit by a car ;). However the brakes were good and stopped me really well, even in the wet (better than my road bike too). You don't need or want front suspension, hybrids are heavy enough you don't want that weighing you down on the road.

I would look at the FX 7.2, you should be able to get one for £400 with appropriate haggling - £50 more if you want disc brakes.