Help needed.

domyx
domyx Posts: 15
edited January 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
Hey, guys!
I'm new to bikes and recently my front suspension fork broke, so I dissembled it. The problem is that I don't remember where goes which part... This is how I put it back together, but now the steering wheel is barely moving and very tight. Please tell me in what order I should put the parts back together.

Comments

• oxocube1
    oxocube1 Posts: 651
    From what you've got there I'd say:

- Take 3 and 4 off the forks then put the forks back in the bike.
    - then put 3 on the opposite way around to the picture.
    - next do the same with 4
    - then 2
    - then the two spacers you have there.
    - next, your stem
    - finally your topcap and bolt, so the blue bit of 1.

I think thats correct but could be wrong.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Read the info on Parktools as it normally shows up where you are wrong http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-hel ... et-service

But first to be clear. This is the same fork as you sent away or has parts been replaced?
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Going from the picture, 7 is the crown race and needs to be knocked down tight onto the crown, 3 the compression wedge and should be the first part above the headset after the fork is inserted through the frame followed by the 2 then spacers stem etc....
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • russyh
    russyh Posts: 1,375
    Looks like the crown race is already on to me though. It looks like number 3 is almost a top race so to speak and the grey rig is the compression wedge.
  • The Rookie
    Not to me, I can't see anything that looks like a crown race knocked down.