Front wheel flex - Reba SL

darkspirit
darkspirit Posts: 40
edited January 2014 in MTB beginners
I'm new to this so please bear with me. ..

When standing over my 26in bike looking down at front wheel and put a lateral left to right load on it the wheel/fork moves considerably. .. Not quite enough for the tyre to touch the stanchion but still a lot more than I thought it would. ..

I've made sure the QR is tight (guessing it's a 9mm qr?)

Is this normal?

There is very little front/back flex in the forks but side to side is bad imo...

Thanks

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Sounds like the wheel might need tensioning.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Tighten spokes?
  • No Sweat
    No Sweat Posts: 103
    Front wheel bearings? Try lifting the wheel off the ground and wiggle it side-to-side with your fingers on the rim and braced against the top of the fork arch - if you feel any movement other than flex (and assuming the QR is fixed properly), the bearings are worn or not properly adjusted. (If loose ball bearings - check for damaged bearings/cups and adjust cones/lock-nuts. If 'sealed' bearings - replace).
  • Thanks for the tip, gave it a go but no movement. .

is a nearly new bike so godly bearings etc should be ok.

The movement does require a bit of force to generate and it feels springy as if it's metal flexing etc. .
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Sounds like spoke tension then.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • No Sweat
    Does sound like you are seeing flex in the wheel itself.

Could still be 'normal', in the sense that, if you push hard enough, any wheel build will flex to some degree. It all rather depends how heavy / strong you are.