Afan Forest Trails

mazzaratty
mazzaratty Posts: 8
edited January 2014 in Routes
Ello,

I just wanted to find out a bit more about the trails in Afan Forest and how it compares to Cwmcarn. I mainly ride XC and only have a hardtail. I'm fairly new to mtbing, been riding for just over a year now. I've done the Cwmcarn Twrch Trail a couple of times, it's bloody tough and technical climbing. Some uphill sections are too difficult for me but overall a really good eye opener for technical riding. The downhill sections were really good fun and didn't have a problem at all.

I'm hoping to visit South Wales next weekend and finally get round to visiting Afan Forest. My question is, are the trails as technical as Twrch on the ascent? I want good trails to build my technical skills but not so tough that I feel I'm out of depth. If anyone can point me to a good red trail either at Afan or anywhere in south Wales i'd appreciate that alot :)

Ta

Comments

• The Twrch is more technical climbing than anything at Afan, but Afan has more technical descents. If you're happy doing Twrch though then you should be fine with Afan.

There's 3 reds at Afan; The Wall, Whites and Penhydd.

Penhydd is the easiest of the three so probably a good idea to do that first. Should take between 1 hour and 1 hour 45 minutes depending on fitness. After that then it's toss up between The Wall and Whites, both great but The Wall edges it for me! If you've done Penhydd first then The Wall starts at the same car park too so would make more sense. The Wall and Whites should both take between 1.5 to 2 hours so you can comfortably fit in Penhydd, some food at the visitor centre and then The Wall in the light even in winter.

Hope this helps!
  • Thewaylander
    Thewaylander Posts: 8,594
    I would say actually Twrch is more techincal all round than anything at afan personally.
  • njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613