18in GT frame for a 5ft 7 1/2 Munchkin?

contented
contented Posts: 83
edited January 2014 in MTB beginners
Hiya!
I've recently discovered that I'm a couple of inches shorter than I always believed and so my 19 inch Hardrock (and obviously my 20 inch Kraken) are too big for me.
I'm a novice so didn't really notice as I've never had anything to compare with and have yet to hit a proper track / route.
I'm on the lookout for a 17inch frame but just wondered -to those who know specific bike's geometry- whether the 18 inch 2009 GT Aggressor frame sitting in my garage will fit me?

I could build it up and see, but tbh I still wouldn't know and don't want to suffer the scorn of my lbs (at least until I've got a bit of cash to spend there).
Any advice appreciated, Happy New Year.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    You have three random size bikes and haven't ridden any? Call me confused.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    It will probably still be too big, but you need to sit on one to make sure.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    All of that sounds very odd. It doesn't matter how short you believe yourself to be - you must sit on the bike and if it fits, it fits.
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    The seat tube length (18"/19" etc) is irrelevant. All three of those bikes could be very similar size or very different. The top tube length is more important.
  • All of that sounds very odd. It doesn't matter how short you believe yourself to be - you must sit on the bike and if it fits, it fits.