Want to convert my Voodoo Bokor into a 2 by 9

georgeav
georgeav Posts: 6
edited December 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, first off i've been using my bokor for 3 months now and it's epic (Better than my old rockhopper) But i ride the bike like you would a full sus, big jumps drops fast tight turns. The Chainslap is driving me nuts even with a chainstay protector.

After looking into it more i found the culprit. I ride on the middle ring. Never the big one. So i want to take the big 50 tooth or something ring off and slap on a bashguard and chain guide for 2 ring small and middle. But i can't see any mounting points for a chainguide. Can someone give me ideas? do i need to get a new bb with external cups?

Do i also need a clutch rear mech? I just want the sound of chain slap gone and only there if i hit something very wrong.
I Was thinking that i could install a external cup bb and put a bb mounted chainguide. Of course, with new cranks

Thanks. Merry new years fellow riders!

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Just remove the big ring, fit a bash, adjust the mech high stop and resize the chain. You already have a chainguide - the front mech.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Cqc
    Cqc Posts: 951
    That's not going to cure the chainslap- what is it slapping against if you have protected the chainstay? They lower joining bit between the plates of the front mech? Protect that too then. If its not that then I think you have to protect the chainstay better and the seat stay too. A clutch mech will help, but a properly protected bike will be a much cheaper and lower maintenance solution.
  • Cqc wrote: