Going through nipples like there's no tomorrow.

Cave_Dweller
Cave_Dweller Posts: 114
edited December 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Just today I have completely snapped 5 nipples. Not all at once either, Ive had to take my wheels off and do the repair 4 times today. on both front and rear wheels. I haven't been riding hard or badly, it was just under braking that the nipples snapped. They are quite corroded and have been on the bike since 2006. Never touched them or trued the wheels since then as the wheels have always been nice and straight with good tension.

Will a rebuild of the wheels using new spokes and nipples solve my problem of them snapping under braking? I'm a spray painter by trade and I was thinking at the time to get the rims back to bare metal and restore them back to former glory as well because the corrosion on the nipples is starting to effect the rims.

Comments

• CitizenLee
    CitizenLee Posts: 2,227
    Sometimes I think the time and effort needed to make something like new again isn't worth the effort of simply replacing it. I think that this is one of those times. 7 years on a set of wheels with no maintenance is good going, so they can retire happy knowing they served you well.
    Current:
    NukeProof Mega FR 2012
    Cube NuRoad 2018
    Previous:
    2015 Genesis CdF 10, 2014 Cube Hyde Race, 2012 NS Traffic, 2007 Specialized SX Trail, 2005 Specialized Demo 8
  • I see what you are saying. It's a good time to use the excuse that if my bike isn't working then the wife has to put up with me more often lol. I'll look into buying a new set then, but I'll keep these retired old souls for parts. I've fixed it for now but I'm just waiting for more to go. Time to add more to my bike shopping list for after christmas.
  • CitizenLee
    Yeah, I think if the corrosion has crept into the rims then they’re best kept as emergency spares! Sounds like you have your purchase justification sorted too ;)